Whisper Creek Golf Club – Golf Course Review

Posted on June 27, 2012

2


The clubhouse view coming up the 18th

I had the opportunity to play Whisper Creek Golf Club recently.  Located in Huntley, IL in Sun City, a Del Webb Community.  If your not familiar with Del Webb communities they are retirement communities for 55 years of age and older.  Driving into this property you are greeted with a spectacular view of a beautifully crafted waterfall and a gorgeous stone entrance to a gated community.  One gets the feeling you’ve entered into luxury living at it’s best.

The golf course is laid out strategically.  Most tees and greens in the Chicago area are right on top of one another.  Not Whisper Creek.  Weaving its way through the community not only speeds up play but lends itself to great views of community houses, prairie and an array of wildlife. Showcasing oak and pine tree fairways.  The fairways being fairly wide.  Don’t get lulled into a false sense of security.  On most holes being off the fairway is going to cost you strokes.

From one hole to the next, it was a pleasure to play this magnificent course with it’s lush green fairways and it’s meticulously manicured greens.  I would put this piece of property up against any private club in the area.

My experience with the staff here was top-notch.  From Tony in the clubhouse to the lady (I apologize for forgetting your name) in the half-way house who gave me the tip on how to play #8, to Bob the starter.  I felt like I was playing at a private Country Club.  I was treated like they all really cared that I had chosen their course to play.

The Details

You cannot beat the mutuals to play this Greg Nash/Billy Casper golf course.  Full fair will cost you $57 with a cart but Tony in the clubhouse told me of a great deal for the Whisper Rewards Plus Card.  Purchase the card for $29 and get $20 off your round of golf each time you play on weekdays, $10 off on the weekend.  Carts included.  A fantastic deal for this course and a warmup bucket of balls only set me back $5!

We started our round off on the back nine this day.  I found the back nine to be a little more forgiving than the front nine.  My playing partner did as well.  There is a considerable amount of water on the back compared to the front but I found the back a little easier to play.

Again, I cannot stress enough how wonderfully maintained this course was.  The fairways and greens were not dried out at all and we have had very little rain here in Chicago for days.  My hat goes off to the superintendent and his crew.  Anyone that can keep a course this green and lush under the dry circumstances we’ve been having…have a cold one on me my friends.

Meandering our way around this picturesque piece of property, I had the to remind myself this is a public course and not private.  The waterfalls off holes #9  and #18 are fantastic views that add to the pleasure of playing this course.  Even the stone used in the construction of these waterfalls and around the course as retention walls was stunning.

The greens here were just about perfect.  Again Mr. Superintendent, kudos to you and your crew.  Some of the greens could be quite challenging to navigate due to contour but all rolled very nicely.

There is one drawback to this course is the distance from my home and my lack of not playing it more.  You can bet that I will be making a few more trips out here to play this wonderfully maintained course and admire more of it’s beauty.

If you like to play a variety of courses, as I do, make it a priority to get out here and play Whisper Creek.  The staff treats you like they would at any private course and you will not find a better maintained course at these rates.  Plus the views are spectacular for which Greg Nash’s designs have come to be known for.

Tony practicing his swing

Hole number 18

View off to the side of number 17 the par 3

My buddy Steve

Posted in: Courses, Golf