Village Links in Glen Ellyn Golf Course Review

Posted on June 23, 2012

0


The Village Links of Glen Ellyn.  In the area I haven’t played that many more courses that are as consistently kept-up as this one.  Village Links gets a lot of play but always…always in very good condition.

A little on the pricey side – I paid $61.20 with a cart with the V.I.P. card you can buy (non-residents pay $78.00 with a cart).  That’s not an inexpensive course by any means.

Now in their defense, I have no problem paying the $61 not for the caliber and maintenance this course always plays.  After all, this years sectional qualifying for the U.S. Open was held here, so you know it’s one of the better courses in the Western suburbs. There is an impressive list of very good caliber events that have been played here at Village Links.  I’m grateful that I live 15 minutes away from this great track and am able to play it.

The layout at this course has to be one of my top 5 in my playing area.  Another one of my top 5 is White Pines West Course in Bensenville but that’s another post.

Step up to the first tee, a 341 yard par 4 from the Whites and enjoy the start of your round.  This hole is going to start the fun and enjoyment that golf is supposed to be about.  Just remember, you need to make shots on this course, not just hit the ball.

With a total of 119 sand bunkers and water on 14 of 18 holes, you had better have your A game with you or at least your B+ game.  What always saves me on this course is my short game.  I’ve never been a long ball hitter, so my short game and putting help me here.  I suggest you practice yours before visiting.

Another of my favorite features this course offers is the greens.  All a fair size for the average player to hit but you better be on the correct side of the flag.  Not that the greens are unfair, quite the opposite, they are very fair and challenging to navigate.  Not so fast as to be difficult but just the right speed to test your skills.  I hope you are a good reader of the green. To score well your going to need it.

Whether you come out to Village Links for one round or a V.I.P. Pass. Do yourself a favor and play this course you won’t be disappointed. By the way, the V.I.P. Pass includes 10% off club house merchandise.

Posted in: Courses, Golf