Eaglewood Resort and Spa

Posted on June 15, 2012

0


Golf courses

What a fun day it was today. I had the chance to play golf with family. My mom and i set a date to play golf a couple weeks ago. This morning I get a text from my brother-in-law he was meeting us. I always look forward to playing with Larry. He shoots a solid game. With a handicap of 9, I know I’m going to have fun watching him.

We got a great deal at Eaglewood Resort and Spa in Itasca. Thirty-eight dollars with a cart. And a free hotdog. That’s a deal! You may remember years ago the course went by the name of Nordic Hills. The last time I played here has in 2003 with my mom and a cousin of ours. I forgot how hilly and narrow this track was.

The course is laid out pretty nice, but the only thing I had a problem with is the greens and tee’s are a little to close together. I felt like I had to keep an eye out for incoming projectiles on quite a few tee’s.

Eaglewood is not a long course. Larry and I played the black tee’s at just over 6000 yards. Your thinking reachable par 5’s I know. But hold on there Bubba. You have a lot of greens on this course guarded by bunkers all around. So make sure that your second shot in is well placed.

To me the course plays a little hard than it’s rating at 115. Even when your in the fairway eight times out of ten your going to have an uneven lie. But that’s what makes this course challenging. There is a lot of up and down on this course. You would get your exercise walking eighteen holes here.

They were just finishing up a renovation of about 4 holes. The front nine had one temporary green on hole #4. The back nine had a temporary green on #12. They made it into two par 4’s in place of the par 5 that it usually plays. Number thirteenth, a par 3, we didn’t even play.

Many of the greens here are protected from tree overhang, so your shot into the green needs to be well struck. Once your on the green be prepared for slant’s,  ridges and plateaus . Just one more feature to this course that makes it fun to play. They putted a little slow today but you could see the greens were left a little long in length.

Due to dry conditions here in the Chicagoland area. If you we’re off the fairway you we’re hitting of very dry, burnt out grass. If you hit a nice tee shot then you we’re rewarded with nice green fairways.

They have a very well stocked pro shop with everything you would need for you round of golf and a friendly staff. After our round we went into Burnham’s for a drink and appetizers. The food was good and the staff pleasant and outgoing.

Today has been the highlight so far  to this years golf. I had the opportunity to play with my brother-in-law, and shared a fun day with mom on the links. At 88 years old she is a great inspiration to me, and a lover of the game like the rest of us. She is the perfect example of your never to old.

Get out there and enjoy some golf and good company.

Posted in: Courses, Golf