Bridges of Poplar Creek

Posted on June 6, 2012

3


OGA Golf Course In Woodburn, OR

So my buddy and I set out to go play Bridges of Poplar Creek today. Finding the course was an adventure all in itself.

If you’ve golf Chicago for a while, you’ll remember this course was call Moon Lake a long time ago. My dad and I played it a couple of times. Since then they have renovated the course and I like the layout.

I have to give them an albatross for what they did for us. On the way there I got a little turned around (alright lost).  I called the course for directions thinking I was talking to someone in the pro shop. It ended up being a tee time booking service. Well, needless to say he gave me wrong directions. I called the course back and got in touch with someone in the pro shop and they got me to the course. We missed our designated tee time be they worked with us to get another time on a very busy day. Plus for all of our trouble they gave us the resident rate. I though they went over and above than what they needed to do.

Now the fun stuff

I thought the course was laid out great. They have some really challenging holes with a bit of water. Where this track comes into its own is on the greens. They rolled very smoothly.  There are a lot of undulations and contours to them. We were fortunate enough to get paired up with a couple of gentleman that played the course before, so the gave us their “pro pointers” which always helps. Like I said, the course was a little crowded and we played in just over 4  hours.

They have new GPS carts there that make things a lot easier. There practice facility looks outstanding! They have a driving range, putting greens, practice sand trap area and pitching area.  All can be seen driving from the I think it was the 14th to the 15th hole.

The only thing I was not pleased with was when we teed off they had us tee of on #10. When we made the turn to play the front nine we stopped for the golf course hotdog. Nice big jumbo franks but a stale bun. For the way they treated us I can look past the stale bun.

Conclusion

I know they just finished up a huge renovation, but I would like to see the course when it has grown in a bit. In a couple fairways and on a couple of greens there is patch sod (didn’t interfere with my play or anyone else’s in our foursome). This is a track I am going to definitely come back to later in the summer to see how it has progressed. I enjoyed playing the course and really admired them for taking care of the missed tee time.

One of the highlights of the day, meeting two new golf buddies. Thank you Tony (a started out at Whisper creek) and Greg (a starter out at Hawthorn Woods) for the course tips! We will meet and play again someday. I just hope it’s before the divine course up there.

Grab your clubs and book a tee time at Bridges of Poplar Creek. You’ll enjoy the newly renovated design and bring an extra sleeve or two of balls.

If you would like to be a guest blogger leave me a message or write in the comments below. I love comments and try to respond to all. Please leave one and tell me about your experiences on the golf course.

Posted in: Courses, Golf